50 Rogers Scholars Spend the Week at Lindsey Wilson College


COLUMBIA, KY – A record-breaking number of 50 rising high school juniors from 35 Eastern and Southeastern Kentucky counties spent a week at Lindsey Wilson as Rogers Scholars. Sponsored by the Somerset-based Center for Rural Development, the weeklong program gives students a glimpse into college life and opens their eyes to several career possibilities.

For 26 years, the intensive weeklong program has focused on leadership skills while giving students hands-on instructional training from professional experts in energy technology, healthcare and education. They also learn about entrepreneurship and civic engagement by visiting local businesses and meeting with influential local representatives. A few notable guest speakers from this year’s program include WKU President Timothy C. Caboni and former basketball player/olympian Kenny Davis.

“Meeting esteemed leaders and entrepreneurs provides valuable insights and inspiration, enriching their overall learning experience,” said Stephanie Blackwood, LWC Student Activities Director. Blackwood serves as the liaison between the college and The Center for Rural Development. “It’s a privilege to support these motivated young individuals on their journey to becoming future leaders, and Lindsey Wilson is proud to be a part of their growth and development.”

LWC Dean of Students, Chris Schmidt was especially impressed with the talent and drive of this year’s Scholars.

“Fifty students in a room is a dynamic group. There's so many personalities to balance, but that was what was beautiful,” said Schmidt. “They've been exposed to so many different things and have been allowed to be their own independent person full of thought. They were in an environment where their energy and ideas were supported, and we saw them blossom.”

Schmidt goes on to say that it is a privilege to partner with The Center for Rural Development and that we are looking at a new generation of world changers.

“It has been a privilege to work with The Center for Rural Development for 20 plus years. Their outreach is incredible”, said Schmidt. “They're already so involved in their schools and their communities. They're the future. They're the future for South Central Kentucky. They're the future for rural Appalachia. They're the future for our region.”

The Rogers Scholars who participated in the program hosted at LWC on June 23-June 28, 2024 were: Kelsay Breeding of Adair County; Justin Loy of Adair County; Hailey Sanders of Bell County; Malley Smith of Bell County; Tabor Tackett of Carter County; Amelia Price of Casey County; John Groce of Clinton County; Allison Latham of Clinton County; Adelyn Wilson of Corbin; Abby Morgan of Cumberland County; Camari Parker of Elliot County; Alexandria Hamilton of Floyd County; Abigail Fathergill of Garrard County; Dylan Cox of Harlan County; Sayed Damaa of Harlan County; Shania Middleton of Harlan County; Jacob Gray of Jackson County; Norah Fitzpatrick of Jessamine County; Conall Sharp of Jessamine County; Adara Campbell of Johnson County; Connor Watts of Johnson County; Callie Sandlin of Knott County; Ellie Collins of Knox County; Kara Smallwood Laurel County; Harrison Addington of Letcher County; Jackson Smith of Lincoln County; Gavin Arnett of Magoffin County; Dovie Marie Harless of Martin County; Hallee Preece of Martin County; Addison Kerr of Martin County; Jackson Winburn of McCreary County; Peyton Clemons of Menifee County; Ella Smallwood of Menifee County; Aubree Jolly of Metcalfe County; Addison Morgan of Metcalfe County; Kenzily Smith of Morgan County; Cayden Hudson of Owsley County; Addison Skaggs of Perry County; Lauren Coleman of Pike County; Caleb Baker of Pulaski County; Gracelyn Epperson of Pulaski County; Elise Gillum of Pulaski County; Emry Ann Pyles of Pulaski County; Kayden Collins of Rockcastle County; Reese Eldridge of Rowan County; Molly Watson of Taylor County; Callie Durham of Taylor County; Lillian Bell of Wayne County; BJ Jackson of Whitley County; Brady Robinson of Wolfe County.

Thank you for supporting local journalism.
Click here to Subscribe.
Click here to donate.