2023 Adopt-A-Highway Art Contest Winners Announced

12 Kentucky students selected from nearly 900 entries to promote litter-free roadsides


FRANKFORT, Ky. (Dec. 7, 2023) – Gov. Andy Beshear today announced that 12 students representing 11 Kentucky counties were top finishers in the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet’s 2023 Adopt-A-Highway Art Contest. The annual contest allows young Kentuckians to showcase their talents while promoting an important message of keeping roadsides free of litter.  

This year’s theme “Can it, Kentucky” drew in nearly 900 entries statewide from students ages 5-18. The winning art came from students representing 12 unique schools.

“We’re thankful to have young and talented Kentuckians lend a hand at sharing an important message to encourage us all to do our part to keep Kentucky beautiful,” said Gov. Andy Beshear.

Adding his congratulations to the winners, KYTC Secretary Jim Gray touched on the importance of promoting a cleaner Kentucky.

“Litter-free roadsides do more than protect our scenic byways; they also keep harmful materials from washing off roads and sidewalks and into our drinking water,” said Secretary Jim Gray. “We’re grateful to have students be part of the solution of maintaining a clean and safe environment.”

The top finishers in each of the four age divisions will receive a $100 gift card, while second- and third-place finishers will each receive a $50 gift card. First- through third-place recipients for all age groups will have their pieces displayed at the Transportation Cabinet Office Building in Frankfort.

The 2023 contest winners are:

5-8 age category

1st place     Simran Lad          Shirley Mann Elementary School, Boone County

2nd place    Cruz Melton         Greenville Elementary School, Muhlenberg County

3rd place     Joshua James     Victory Arts, Carter County

9-11 age category

1st place     Meera Patel       Good Shepherd School, Franklin County

2nd place    Natalie Leake     Old Kentucky Home Middle School, Nelson County

3rd place     Sophia Reik       Garrard Middle School, Garrard County

12-14 age category

1st place     Blakely Callahan        South Laurel High School, Laurel County

2nd place    Kathryn Whitecotton  Heritage Christian Academy, Christian County

3rd place     Brynlee Smith            McLean County Middle School

15-18 age category

1st place     Jasmine Beckwith      Christian County High School

2nd place    Shannen Eckert          Rockcastle County High School

3rd place     Cloey Bowman           Morgan County High School

The Adopt-A-Highway program is a statewide volunteer effort to reduce roadside litter and keep Kentucky’s highways beautiful. Litter-free roads promote a clean environment, foster civic pride, and save taxpayer dollars. More information on Kentucky’s Adopt-A-Highway program can be found at https://transportation.ky.gov/AdoptaHighway/Pages/default.aspx.

Thank you for supporting local journalism.
Click here to Subscribe.
Click here to donate.