Adair County Elementary School Takes Top Honors At District


Adair County Elementary School (ACES) Academic Team competed in District Governor’s Cup at Memorial Elementary School in Hart County on Tuesday, January 30, 2024 and Saturday, February 3, 2024.

ACES Academic Team competed against host school, Memorial Elementary  and Green County Intermediate School in the events of Future Problem Solving (FPS), Written Composition, Written Assessments of Arts & Humanities, Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, and Social Studies, and Quick Recall.  

The ACES Future Problem Solving Team, coached by Mrs. Jeana Pike, is composed of Emily Burkhardt, Owen Collins, Ava Froedge, Catelynn Fugate, Cash Hare, Clara Kotter, Matthew Moss, Jaxton Stephens, and Warren Willis.  The FPS team competed on Tuesday, January 30, 2024 earning top honors of first place in their competition.

All three students competing in Written Composition placed, earning a bid to regional play.  Those advancing are Emily Burkhardt (2nd), Rory Kleckler (3rd), and Raelee Turner (5th).  

Written assessments consist of thirty-six multiple choice in specific content areas with a time limit of thirty-five minutes to complete.  ACES had several individual winners.  All team members competing  and their individual placement consist of Lillian Ballard (Language Arts, Arts & Humanities 2nd), Gabe Erickson (Math 2nd, Science 3rd), Cash Hare (Science 4th), Dallas Hatcher (Arts & Humanities 1st, Science 5th), Karlie Irvin (Language Arts 5th, Social Studies), Rory Kleckler (Social Studies 5th), Clara Kotter (Social Studies 2nd), Matthew Moss (Math 1st), Jaxton Stephens (Math), Raelee Turner (Language Arts 4th), and Sophia Warren (Arts & Humanities 3rd).  Written Composition and Written Assessments are coached by Mrs. Lisa Newell-Hare.

The ACES Quick Recall Team, coached by Mrs. Lisa Newell-Hare, is comprised of Lillian Ballard, Emily Burkhardt, Gabe Erickson, Addison Giles, Cohen Grider, Dallas Hatcher, Raegan Hillock, Karlie Irvin, Rory Kleckler, Clara Kotter, Matthew Moss, Jaxton Stephens, Kinsley Thomas, and Raelee Turner.  The team swept in play being named first place competitors in their competition on Saturday, February 3, 2024.  

Along with first place honors of FPS, Quick Recall, and many individual accolades, the team as a whole was  awarded first place overall recognition of District 34 Governor’s Cup.  These students will advance to regional competition in March.

Thank you for supporting local journalism.
Click here to Subscribe.
Click here to donate.