Election Board Votes To Appeal


The Adair County Election Board will appeal a ruling by Circuit Judge Judy Vance that threw out the November 2014 mayoral race.

While making a motion to appeal board member Ben Loy said after conferring with former county clerk Joyce Rodgers and Deputy Sheriff B.J. Bray, who served on the board in 2014, they disagreed with the findings of fact Vance used to determine her ruling.

County Clerk Lisa Greer and Sheriff Harrison Moss abstained from the vote because they were candidates and were not on the election board when the November 2014 election took place. Ben Loy and Billy Curry voted to file an appeal.

Mayor Curtis Hardwick said following the brief special called meeting of the election board that he would join the appeal and his attorney would be part of the process.

County Attorney Jennifer Hutchison Corbin said following the meeting she would not be handling the appeal and felt the board would need to hire someone who handles appeals of this nature.

Hardwick will be responsible for paying for his own attorney. The county government will be responsible for paying the cost to the board of elections.

Adair County Election board (from left) County Clerk Lisa Greer, Sheriff Harrison Moss, Deputy Sheriff B. J. Bray, County Attorney Jennifer Hutchison Corbin, Democrat representative Ben Loy and Republican representative Billy Curry.

Thank you for supporting local journalism.
Click here to Subscribe.
Click here to donate.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here