One team and five individuals comprise the 2023 Adair County High School Athletic Hall of Fame class


One team and five individuals comprise the 2023 Adair County High School Athletic Hall of Fame class.

In the fall of 1980, the ACHS Cross Country team captured the State title and remain the only athletic team to win a State Championship. Members of that team that ran in the state included Timmy Miller, Edward Hunter, Lynn Green, Larry Phillips, Charles Smith, Terry Phillips, and Steve Burton. Glynn Nixon and Gregg Bardin coached this championship squad.

Milton Bomar (’69) received recognition his last year of basketball as All-Fifth Region player and Honorable Mention All-State and qualified for the State Cross Country meet in the fall of 1967. He also started at shortstop and in the outfield for the baseball team. The 1969 ACHS yearbook recognized Bomar as the winner of the “Greatest Athlete in ACHS History” award.

Kevin Bridgewaters (’03) led the State in scoring his senior year of basketball with a 35.3 average and was Runner-up for the prestigious Mr. Basketball Award in the state.

Kim Goodin (’79) participated in the State Golf Tournament her junior and senior years finishing sixth in the fall of 1978. After her successful high school golfing career, she coached ten years over several tenures for the golf team and then led the Lady Indians basketball team as head coach for thirteen years which included the 1992 trip to the State Sweet Sixteen tournament.

Maxie Hadley (’71) captured the only individual state title in an athletic event with his first place finish in the fall of 1970 State Cross Country Meet.

Dr. Ronald Rogers (’65), known as “Doc” to generations of athletes, coaches and parents, contributed to the ACHS athletic programs since 1975 as team doctor and strong supporter of all sports. Rogers finished a stellar baseball career at ACHS and received a baseball scholarship to Western Kentucky University and returned to his home town to directly impact the lives of athletes for many years.

Six previously inducted members to another ACHS Hall of Fame will be included in this recognition.
Those included John Burr, Haskin Rowe, Ralph Shearer, Terry Randall, Ralph McQueary and the 1954 Men’s Basketball Team.

Recognition ceremonies are planned for early fall with more details to come in the near future.

Thank you for supporting local journalism.
Click here to Subscribe.
Click here to donate.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here