School board gets two new members, City Council gets one


Two new school board members were elected Tuesday in Adair County while a third ran unopposed.

District 2 incumbent Quinn Lasley was defeated by newcomer Daniel Adams and District 4 incumbent Floyd Burton was defeated by Jonathan Gaskins.

Lasley received 533 votes to Adams' 717 votes.

Burton received 630 votes to Gaskins' 1,056.

Mike Harris, who ran unopposed in District 5, received 1,088 votes.

In the City Council race, incumbents Ronald Rogers (875 votes), Mark Harris (842), Craig Dean (778), Linda Waggener (697), and Anthony "Craig" Lasley (679) all kept their seats with former Mayor Pamela Hoots (710) taking the seat left vacant when Charles Grimsley chose not to file. Tommy Steele (622) and John Ford (511) fell short in the race for the six seats.

In other races, Adair County voted for Donald Trump for president, Rand Paul for U.S. Senate, and James Comer for Congress.

Totals will be posted soon.



Thank you for supporting local journalism.
Click here to Subscribe.
Click here to donate.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here